top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristen Lewendon

Book Review: First Love Romance Boxset by C Morgan


4 First Love Novellas for your reading pleasure…

My First Crush

It was completely forbidden, and yet, I couldn’t stop myself. But I wasn’t alone. Everyone crushed on our high-school coach back in the day. Strong. Dominant. Hot as sin. And completely off limits. Or he was back then. Now I’m finally grown up, and I’ve come back home. Life feels directionless, but one thing is dead center. My old crush. Now I’m finally old enough to do something about it, and I plan to. But I need to figure out how to tell my best friend that I’m in love. With her father.

Hot Summer Nights

The last thing I need this summer is a distraction. But the girl next door is exactly that and more in that little bikini of hers. I'm struggling as it is without her curves tempting me. Starting a business is hard. Resisting the call of the sexy college student in the next house over is even harder. Who am I kidding? Resisting isn’t my style. I want her. But there's a catch. She's my best friend's little sister. Can our secret romance survive his disapproval, or will I have to choose one over the other? Either way, the girl next door is mine.


Wash Over Me

I needed a break from my billion-dollar company. A small beach town called me on a much-needed vacation. And I never expected to see her there. Years had passed, and yet I thought about her all the time. She was my girl and still should be. Strategy isn’t just for the office. I’m going to win her heart. I came for myself, but I’m not leaving without her.


Model Student

My art is damaged by my broken heart. My creativity numb. Losing my wife has left me finding contentment in the dark, until a light shines through the mist. A new model for my sculpting class, and I find myself inspired to breathe again. She has curves made to be sculpted, and for the first time since that day, my hands are itching to work—on her. All of her. This beautiful mystery girl's mind and body are capable of healing me. And her talent is stunning. As my second chance stares me in the face, I have one choice to make.

Fall in love with the forbidden or risk losing the light again.

 


My Review:

My First Crush Marley’s been away from her hometown for several years and done a lot of growing up in that time. When she encounters Coach Shawn at dinner with her best friend, she realizes that the crush she had on him has turned into something bigger and more powerful. And even though they both try to resist, their chemistry is too strong to deny. This is one of the lighter, sweeter takes I’ve seen on falling for the best friend’s father. I think that’s what I liked most about this book. While there’s some drama, and all the angst that just naturally comes with the situation, for the most part everyone behaves like mature, level-headed adults. It’s refreshing. And I can’t wait to see if anything happens with the best friend and the brother. Hot Summer Nights It took me a long time to buy into these two as a couple. And that’s mostly because I couldn’t get past my first impression of Alana as a manipulative, spoiled brat with no concern for anyone else’s feelings. Landon, on the other hand, I pretty much adored right from the beginning. He’s chosen the difficult road to entrepreneurship and that’s where he’s trying to focus all his energy. At least, until Alana waltzes in with all her bratty tweenager behavior. It wasn’t until I finally saw her acting like a responsible adult that I was able to fully get behind this pairing. Thankfully, that happened before they had to defend their relationship and I was invested by then. As with most other books I’ve read by this author, this one has the most adorable epilogue that left me with all the feels in the end. Wash Over Me 3-1/2, rounding up. The story’s just as sweet as it is hot. These are traits I’m beginning to recognize as being characteristic of this author’s work. Nia and Gram were childhood best friends that were forced apart because of choices they made. ( That was a difficult statement to write without giving away the whole book.) When they encounter one another years later all the feelings for one another are still there – good and bad. I loved sweetly protective Gram and I couldn’t understand why he’s so often treated like a bad guy. Even once it’s revealed, I still don’t understand why he’s stuck with all the guilt and blame for a situation it took both of them to make. The ending also felt oddly rushed, even for the short format of this story. However, the epilogue is one of the cutest things I’ve read in a while. Model Student This sweet little story is all about being open to the possibilities after the loss of a loved one. Harris lost his wife to cancer and hasn’t been really living since then. Without the love of his life to brighten his days, even his artistic muse has abandoned him. Then Nikki walks into his classroom and nothing will be the same again. I loved watching these two fight their instant chemistry and the taboo nature of their teacher/student and artist/model relationships. I received a complimentary advanced copy of this book from the author.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page